Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I buy a black car?

Hi all,
    Currently looking to upgrade my car. As of now, I have a silver one which I wash weekly. I do enjoy spending time polishing and waxing it every few months, however, with silver, there is no real satisfaction after all the work. It does look better, but this improvement is somewhat minor.
    I was thinking of getting a black car as my next one. I know they're higher maintenance but I would wash it weekly and wax it every few months or so. Personally, I just think that black cars look stunning.

Also, I'm not a professional detailer, rather just an amateur that enjoys cleaning my car. So, the polishing and waxing I do is all by hand, not machine..

However, I'd like to hear from people that own or have owned black cars in the past. What are your thoughts and did you guys regret getting a black car?
    Thanks

I used to have a black Porsche and whilst it did show all the dust terribly, when it was clean and polished it looked fabulous. The process was very rewarding, so we're on the same hymn sheet there. You just need to ensure that you get some really good protection on it before it leaves the showroom, I'd recommend Ceramic such as http://raceglaze.com.au/9h-ceramic-glass-coat-kit/ and tell the dealership to do nothing to it, not even wash it (just remove the protective packaging). Then adopt a safe wash programme and it'll be fine. And make a change from so many white cars....

Comment

I have had a Black Jeep Grand Cherokee for nearly 4 yrs and do not regret it for 1 minute. Dark colours show swirl marks more clearly in certain light conditions, but good washing technique will help to minimise them, use a pressure washer for pre soak foam, then pressure rinse followed by 2 bucket method hand wash.